Baptism an act of faith and commitment!


My daughter asked to be baptised the other day. I didn’t have to ask her, she just checked the response card in the pew. I am convinced this is the result of my daughter attending Church with me, seeing the change in my attitude and behavior. She knows her father is saved, she experienced the change and salvation as well as me. Jesus has brought me closer to her through the church. Praise God.

You may wonder what baptism is or requires, so read on from Venice Church’s blog which I pilfered.

“Baptism is the first thing that God asks us to do after we accept Jesus Christ as our Savior. If you have accepted Christ and you have not been baptized you have an opportunity to take this important step in your walk with Christ.
What I want you to understand more than anything is that baptism does not save you, forgive you, wash away your sins, or get you into heaven. Only putting your faith and trust in Jesus Christ and His death, burial, and resurrection does that. But…baptism is your next step after salvation. It is your coming out party. It tells everybody, your friends, your family, and the world that you are a Christ follower. When you stand in the water it is a picture of Christ on the cross. When you go under the water that represents His burial. When you come up out of the water it shows that Christ has risen from the dead. Baptism is a statement of your faith. “-Pastor Craig Henson

Leave a Reply

