Occupy Los Angeles! The Movement of the 99%


Contrary to – supporters to the claims of the 99% movement membership being misfits, uneducated and un patriotic, un-American and un Godly. Let me give you an account of myself and my daily activities as well as what brought me to the point of joining the 99% Movement. There was a time I believed in “The American Dream. ” I volunteered for military service, I graduated from a university, got employed in the municipal sector and joined a union and am a Baptist church member. I began to feel discontent prior to the economic crash of 2008, questioning the legitimacy of the 2000, 2004 elections and the US/Anglo v Afghan/ Iraq wars. In 2008 lost 35% of my 401k and other retirement investments as well as was forced to sell my family home. In 2009 I was laid off from my job.

I won”t bore you with any more detail as to my economic woes but rather give you an account of  my daily activities and some of the people I encounter on a daily basis.

I usually can be found at the Medic tent as I am a First Responder. Many of the movement members are elderly and we provide care as best as possible for those that have basic needs as well as responding to emergency situations. I also teach first aid and community CPR for those that wish to learn. I also enroll in classes such as non -violent resistance and election fraud awareness classes.

Who are the  people involved in the 99%  movement? We are educated, union members,workers, veterans, teachers, nurses , doctors, firefighters, police officers, young , elderly, and students. 

We are the marginalized, the disenfranchised.

Please read as to my solutions to the problems in government and revitalizing the economy.

https://gerilewis.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/national-gnp-expenditure/

https://gerilewis.wordpress.com/2011/08/14/fascism-perfected/

https://gerilewis.wordpress.com/2011/08/05/politics-not-as-usual/

Leave a Reply

