Soldiering for Jesus Christ


jesus

If you don’t know by know from reading my blog, let me tell you I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I don’t know much but one thing I do know how to do is soldier being a US Army veteran. More than likely you know this also as well as I am an in a fellowship of clean and sober guys and gals that has been around since the 1930’s. Yeah man, I am a friend of Bill W. That being said, Let me get right on down to it. You see you may or may not know this, however all of the 12 steps in this ‘lil ‘ol fellowship is based on the Gospel of Jesus Christ and the Epistles of several apostles. Today attending a meeting of said fellowship, the topic was “Not my will but yours, God” The fellow running the meeting said, “This is in part formula for sobriety.” Which it most certainly is. However what he failed to say and may not even have known, is these are the words of the Messiah, Jesus Christ.

You can bet your bottom dollar, when I got a chance to speak, I let all 75 folks in the room know that these words are not just some “formula” from a mere mortal. This is a quote from the most documented person of the ancient world (who I believe rose from the dead on the third day after his death) as he prayed on Mt Olive before going willingly to his brutal and painful crucifixion. This is no tale or fable, it is historical fact. So let’s get it right, dig? Now, I was not indignant, condescending or adversarial. For one we are to bring others the message gently. In addition this sort of thing is at times a faux paus in the rooms of the fellowship.However I felt the Holy Spirit as well so I though a bit as to how I would get the Word out. As I shared,I stated the facts as to as to the historical record, my relationship with Christ and urged those in attendance to look into it and concluded as t how it was then, during and now in my personal recovery from alcohol and drug addiction.

Colossians 1:28 “So we tell others about Christ, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all the wisdom God has given us.”

The record according to the only gentile to have written a book of the life and deeds of Jesus, the physician Luke as written in the book of Luke v 39 “He withdrew about a stone’s throw beyond them, knelt down and prayed, 42“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43 An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44 And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.”

Heavy man, very heavy.It is my sincere hope that all of those in attendance will be saved by the Gospel of Christ yet that is not my mission. I am only commanded to let them know about Jesus. The rest is up to Him and them.

Leave a Reply

