White’s Pass Washington USA


20160806_13115920160806_130351

My journey begins in the high desert chaparral of Yakima following the Naches river. I pass through the hamlet of Naches and hang a left where the Tieton river joins the Naches river. I accelerate into the Wenatchee National Forest. The Tieton river is now on my left and the deciduous tress of the riparian zone quickly give way to the conifer forest. The air, sounds, and smells are a sensory delight. I especially enjoy the cool mountain air and pine scent.  Of course snow is on the upper elevations and the landscape looks like a Palomino horse’s coat.

20160806_130428

Soon enough I am into the the Rainer National Forest. Passing  White’s Pass ski resort and  rounding curve in the road, Mt Rainer suddenly appears. The mountain is so overwhelmingly dominant in its size and beauty it actually dazzles me. I pull over to gaze at the mountain in wonderment. The Cascade mountains and forests are truly magnificent.

 

 

Leave a Reply

